Thursday, 24 May 2012

Host city Glasgow well represented in the 2012 Scottish Curry Awards...

The Scottish Curry Awards announce their shortlisted curry contenders

After months of fierce competition, nominations have now closed for the Scottish Curry Awards. Restaurants and takeaways from all over Scotland battled it out to make the best curry in the country.

The fifth Scottish Curry Awards will take place in Thistle Hotel on the 11th June, and it is set to be a fantastic evening. With over 100 restaurants, and being the Curry Capital of Britain for four years, it makes Glasgow the ideal location for the Scottish Curry Awards.

Yasmin Mahmood, Operations & Business Development Manager for event organiser Oceanic Consulting said: “Food is somethingpeople get really passionate about, whether it’s the public who love dining out, or the chef who makes the meal with pride. This passion is the reason we decided to put the awards on in the first place, as well as to provide a platform for restaurants and takeaways to aspire to be a part of. This year thousands of nominations flooded in, in support of the publics favourite. After five years putting this ceremony on, I am sure it will be fantastic evening, and good luck to all the finalists!

The main sponsor is and Save the Children is this year’s charity partner.

Other sponsors of the event include: Bank of Scotland, Pepsi, Asda, O2, Elephant Atta, Goldstar Chefs, Grafx Media, Saffron Events UK, RNIB, DRB Solicitors, ZEE TV and Highland Spring.

There are nine awards to be won on the night, two of which have four regional winners.

The categories and finalists are as follows:

The Curry Lover of the Year

• Curry Heute (Hector)
• Alzheimer Scotland
• Glasgow City Council

Best Supermarket Curry Award

• Morrisons
• Asda
• Iceland

Team of the Year

• Taj Mahal (Biggar)
• Ashoka Dundee
• Cafe India (Glasgow)
• Ashoka Jonhston
• Mister Singhs India (Glasgow)

Chef of the Year

• Mafiz Ali (Ayr Spice)
• Ajmal Mushtaq (Mushtaqs Restaurant)
• Jagtar Singh (Taj Tandoori)
• Babu Lal Yadav (Britannia Spice)
• Min Kharrel (Bukharah)

Take Away of the Year

North East

Qismat – Aberdeen
Bombay Spice - Fife

North West

Kebabish Curry House – Oban
Max’s 2 – Inverness

South West

Village Curry House – Glasgow
Halal Kebab House – Glasgow

South East

Eastern Spices – Edinburgh
Kebab Mahal - Edinburgh

Restaurant of the Year - North West, South West, North East, South East & North West

Spice Tandoori – Fort William
Coriander – Oban
The Indian Garden – Fort William
Rajah Indian Restaurant – Inverness

North East

Tabla – Perth
Cinnamon – Aberdeen
Bombay Joe’s – Dundee
Manzil – Perth

South West

Mother India’s Cafe – Glasgow
Spice Hamilton – Hamilton
Rasoi – Lenzie
Akbars – Glasgow

South East

Shezan – Edinburgh
Kebabish – Edinburgh
Zaika – Livingston
Suruchi – Edinburgh

Curry King or Queen 2012

• Akram Mohammed
• Asha Bains
• Mohamed Ali

The Best of Glasgow

• Bukharah
• Mister Singhs India
• Cafe India
• Akbars
• Mother India’s Cafe
• Kamasutra
• Ashoka Ashton Lane
• Charcoals
• Bombay Blues
• Balbir’s

The ninth award of the night is the Lifetime Achievement Award, which the winner of will be announced on the night.

The Scottish Curry Awards 2012 are taking place at The Thistle Hotel, Glasgow on 11th June with the event raising money for Save the Children and includes a delicious four course meal, live entertainment, fundraising activities, several guest presenters and guarantees to be a great evening out. The winners will be announced shortly after the awards, for more information please visit

Keep up to date with us on FACEBOOK.


Follow us on Twitter: @MISTERSINGHS

If you have found this post of interest then please feel free to share it via your online community by clicking on the share buttons below. Thank you.

No comments:

Post a Comment